From left: Bucks County Commissioners Diane Ellis-Marseglia, Bob Harvie and Gene DiGirolamo.

DOYLESTOWN >> For the first time in 40 years, Bucks County voters on Tuesday flipped control of county government to the Democrats.

After years of Republican control, Democrats swept to victory on Tuesday winning four open county row offices and majority control of the board of county commissioners.

Incumbent Democrat Commissioner Diane Ellis-Marseglia and Falls Township Supervisor Robert Harvie won majority control of the Bucks County Board of County Commissioners by unseating incumbent Republican Commissioner Rob Loughery.

With the second highest vote count in the race, Republican Gene DiGirolamo of Bensalem won the minority seat on the board now held by Marseglia.

With 306 districts out of 306 reporting, Marseglia led the vote count with 82,650 followed by DiGirolamo with 77,930, Harvie with 75,172 and Loughery with 74,507.

Marseglia was first elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2007. She has advocated for the improvement to policies and programs that are ineffective to residents. During her tenure, she has championed programs including Code Blue, specialty courts, and Crisis Intervention Training.

Harvie is a social studies teacher in Bucks County and chairman of the Falls Township Board of Supervisors. He joined the race for county commissioner to improve outreach between the county, the residents, businesses, schools and local governments. He believes the county needs to do a better job addressing job-training, mental health, addiction, and access to transportation.

Democrats also swept every row office race, with Newtown Township Supervisor Linda Bobrin defeating Republican incumbent Don Petrille for Register of Wills. Bobrin had 51.5 percent of the vote.

Democrat Kris Ballerini defeated Republican incumbent Tom Panzer for the job of county treasurer with 51.4 percent of the vote.

Democrat Brian Munroe defeated longtime Republican Clerk of Courts Mary Smithson with 51 percent of the vote.

And Democrat Meredith Buck defeated incumbent Republican Coronor Joseph Campbell with 51.1 percent of the vote.

Following Tuesday's vote, the Democrats now hold every row office except for district attorney.

The Democrats also made inroads on the Court of Common Pleas on Tuesday with Charissa Liller and Jordan Yeager winning their races for judge tallying 78,261 votes and 77,822 votes respectively. Republican Denise Bowman won the third open seat with 77,571 votes. 

comments powered by Disqus